Want a DJI quadcopter with 3D Gimbal for a GoPro Hero 4 Black Edition camera
31127 33 2014-10-10
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
celebrate1203
lvl.1

United States

I really love all the features of the DJI Phantom 2 Vision + Quadcopter with 3D Gimbal and especially how everything can be controlled from the remote with the smartphone app BUT the problem that I am having and running into is that I would really love to have the same set up BUT with a GoPro Hero 4 Black Edition camera instead. I do not want to sacrifice control of the quadcopter because of frequency issues.
Can anyone tell me if I could safely use the GoPro Hero 4 Black Edition camera that was just released on October 5th, 2014 and what all equipment I would need to safely get up and flying without worrying about loosing control?
I am a total novice at this but I am a professional photographer and would love to start a new venture in aerial video and still photography.
Whatever help you can give me in direction and exactly what equipment I would need would be greatly appreciated. I plan on purchasing after the new year.
Thank you for your time.
Larry
2014-10-10
Use props
T J Gilbert
lvl.4
Flight distance : 74659 ft
United States

It's really not easy to incorporate all the features of the P2V+ into a craft using the GoPro (3, 4, etc.).
I would hope that the ground station (waypoint flight) is not really a priority.
You could start with a P2 + H3-3D (provided they get the gimbal and new camera working to everyone's liking).
Then, you'd need to either go the Lightbridge route, or put together a VTx/VRx + monitor ground station.
Controlling the camera & settings in flight will still not be as easy (if at all) as with the P2V+.

Since you are an admitted novice, and a professional photographer I'd suggest:
Start with something like a P2V or P2V+.
Learn to fly the craft and observe the shortcomings (if any) that would make you prefer the GoPro4.