Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Edinburgh
6207 12 2017-6-14
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
fans6429b1be
New
United Kingdom

Hello I am relatively new to flying and have experience with the phantom 3 but sold it to get a mavic pro.

I was wondering if anyone can tell me anything about their experiences flying in Edinburgh ? Websites and apps all say the whole city is a no fly zone but both the police and local government have told me I can fly over Arthur's seat, holyrood park and any open green area in the city centre. Seems to be a bit of a grey area though

I know the castle, palace, airport and prison are strictly off limits, any tips, advice or clips would be much appreciated.
2017-6-14
Use props
MDJ
lvl.2
Flight distance : 85646 ft
United Kingdom

Not really a grey area.  The rules are that you have to keep your drone 50m away from people, property or vehicles and 150m away from built up areas - so no flying over the City centre etc.  
2017-6-14
Use props
Lok Mavic
lvl.3
Flight distance : 1486660 ft
United Kingdom

As MDJ said, just apply the 50 metre rule, 50m away from people, 50m away from building. Always maintain LOS and you are good to go. Find a big park to fly and avoid any congested area because it can attract attention. No good for your and other's safety.
2017-6-14
Use props
fans6ba60355
lvl.2

India

Fly around Arthur's seat, but be careful of the wind currents around the ridge. They grabbed my Mavic and pushed it 2000 feet away from me, and I couldn't make it come back even in sport mode. Luckily, I was able to use "find my drone" to recover it.
2017-6-16
Use props
liang_c
lvl.1
Australia

Hi,

I used to live in Edinburgh for a few years. And I am planning to revisit the city and UK again this October.

I would like to get advice on flying in the city too.

Have you got any chance to fly in the city yet? Or have got any tips from other DJI users?

Many thanks!!
2017-9-3
Use props