High Wind Warning
1124 6 2017-7-9
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
N762CB
lvl.4
Flight distance : 513970 ft
United States

Just updated the P4 & controller to the new firmware today.  My first flight I got a "high wind" warning after being 50' into the air and a warning to keep the P4 in sight.  I'm a flight instructor and I know the winds were <10  knots even at 50'.  Been flying in the same location for 8 months, etc.  Never got a high wind warning before.  What's going on and will this warning cause the P4 to do anything automatically that I cannot have control over?
2017-7-9
Use props
Aardvark
First Officer
Flight distance : 384432 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

Looks like this wind warning is an added feature to the new firmware build. I had it several times yesterday and as far as I'm aware it does nothing other than give a caution. Whether it's over sensitive or not may be another question. What I would find more useful would be an indication of wind speed which I'm sure they could estimate from the amount of effort needed to keep the aircraft in position in P & S modes, while in ATTI mode could be calculated from the drift.
2017-7-9
Use props
Nigel_
Second Officer
Flight distance : 388642 ft
United Kingdom

Have you done an IMU calibration on a flat surface since the update?

You can ignore the warning, but better to solve the problem if there is a problem.  
2017-7-9
Use props
phantom_of_the_
lvl.2
Flight distance : 90459 ft
United Kingdom

Getting this quite regularly now too. A lot of other people have as well I believe.
2017-7-9
Use props
Rodger8
First Officer
Flight distance : 20145135 ft
  • >>>
United States

I have it all the time with the old version so it is nothing new. It is activated when the gyro's start working  rapidly to compensate for the movement caused by a decent wind. 10 PPH is about right. It is sensitive and it is just a caution as your window on your tablet states. Not to worry.
2017-7-9
Use props
jwt-873
Second Officer