2148 3 2017-7-17
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Mir
lvl.4
Flight distance : 2718491 ft
  • >>>
United States

This is my first time dealing with DJI support, I've been fortunate to have had the Mavic since it was released and had no major problems, until recently since I got the Goggles. I've read horror stories about DJI support, and they seem to be living up to their reputation.

Problem:
When my goggles are in use, both the goggles and phone get randomly disconnected when the Mavic is recording video. It happens frequently... and I have a video to prove it.

At exactly 24 seconds, the goggles disconnect and my RC/phone disconnect as well. I'm still close range with full bars. The mavic becomes disoriented and I lose control for a few seconds. The goggles once again lose connection at 1:34. The same thing.
This is caused by the goggles, because when the goggles are turned off, I don't have any disconnection issues. This is not normal and dangerous. I've tried a variety of settings and they all force disconnection, EXCEPT when the goggles are in smooth headtracking mode and the mavic is not recording video.
I can reproduce this issue every single time. The biggest problem is that it somehow forces the RC and phone to disconnect as well, forcing a momentary loss of control, video recording interruption, gimbal reset and loss of focus... all in midair.

So I explained this to DJI support. Their replies so far.. have been nothing short of infuriating.. and completely off-topic. Here are two of their replies:

Response #1 -----------
Thank you for contacting DJI.

Please check the specs of the Goggles. The maximum it can take is 1080p 30fps so it will automatically switch from 4k to 1080p 30fps.

----------------------

I further explained the problem, and even provided the video above to better demonstrate the issue.

Response #2------------
Thank you for the response.