P4 Should I Update to the Newest Firmware from 1.02.0503
1096 13 2017-7-19
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
fans7bca4919
lvl.1

United States

Hello All,
I am new to Phantoms. I have used bebops in the past. I bought a used p4 drone and am working through some issues.

Should I upgrade from firmware 1.02.0503 to the newest 2.00.0106?

It does fly but occasionally gets a gimbal joint sensor initilization error upon start.

What am I losing or gaining from the upgrade. The current firmware is over a year old. I am worried about the possibility of a bricked drone during update and the flight restrictions once installed.

Really appreciate it
Force

2017-7-19
Use props
olefolks
lvl.2
United States

There are a number of varibles involved here.  What kind of problems are you having now?  What device are you using? You might want to read the "release" notes re the new FW.
2017-7-19
Use props
usarfireman
lvl.4
Flight distance : 79957 ft
United Kingdom

Straight answer NO! Wait until the firmware issue has been resolved else you may also end up with an expensive door stop
2017-7-19
Use props
fans7bca4919
lvl.1

United States

usarfireman Posted at 2017-7-19 07:32
Straight answer NO! Wait until the firmware issue has been resolved else you may also end up with an expensive door stop

Thanks ole and fireman ,
I don't have many issues , it flys  well overall. I do get an occasional gimbal joint angle sensor initilizarion error upon startup . It flys and records even with that error .

I was more thinking about the update for the upgrades . I am super new to the phantom so still have to learn what it currently does .

Thanks
Force
2017-7-19
Use props
Otto4
lvl.2
Flight distance : 162812 ft
Norway

Do not upgrade now, the new firmware is usless and full og bugs, making the drone usless! wait and see at the response on the new improved firmware when released
2017-7-19
Use props
HomePoint
lvl.4
Flight distance : 776007 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom