Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
An open letter to DJI
3606 30 2017-7-24
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Cedric Pieterse
lvl.3
Flight distance : 1225827 ft
Sweden

Dear DJI,
As a proffesional UAS pilot, doing mapping, ortho photos 3D modelling and aerial surveying, I am deeply concerned about your latest firmware update.
I have been flying commercially for more than 5 years, using a variety of equipment from various manufacturers.
Amongst the systems I use is my Phantom 4. I am happy with it, and it works well. However, I have not updated my firmware and will not either.
This is after reading on this forum, as well as numerous social media forums about the many problems faced by unfortunate pilots who did.
As a licensed commercial pilot I very often fly in controlled airspace, with all the permissions required to do so from all the authorities involved.
As far as I can make out, DJI has restricted the use of the drones in a lot of places where I currently fly. I am aware of the fact that DJI can unblock an area so that I can fly my drone if need be. This is unfortunately out of touch with the reality that we as commercial pilots face on a daily basis. We are limited to weather, time slots allocated by air traffic controllers and time itself. Sometimes a window of opportunity to fly is severely narrowed by the above mentioned factors and we cannot afford to wait for DJI to unblock our drones.
I normally do not use my Phantom so often such restrictions from the drone manufacturer does not worry me. I do use the Phantom as a reserve drone, or for applications where it is best suited for the job. Because my Phantom is on older firware, and I am using a old DJI GO app, my equipment still works.
I was thinking of upgrading my Phantom to a newer model, as the older one has many flights on it, and sooner or later it will be worn out.