Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
New pilot, Mavic my first real drone
4353 13 2017-8-6
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
editedweb
New
Flight distance : 15607 ft
Australia

Hi guys,

Just wanted to introduce myself, I'm a new pilot, having had my Mavic for just a week now. I'd love to know some of the best tips and tricks to get the most out of my flights. Currently, I have been trying to fly most days, but have been unable to a couple of days due to rain (guessing that flying in the rain is not advisable). I have however been flying in the wind, and am really surprised at how well the Mavic copes with this.

A few questions now:
  • When flying in GPS mode, will the GPS drop out due to trees/buildings etc? I have tried to test this by flying under some trees, and haven't noticed anything yet, but I don't want to find out the hard way (and have the Mavic rise into branches). My main reason for asking this, is that as a surveyor, I understand the effect that trees can play in distorting GPS signals.
  • What are the best tips and tricks to avoiding bird attention? I don't want to injure any birds, including the Mavic! I have ordered some bright orange stickers to try to help in this regard, but any ideas are greatly appreciated.

Looking forward to hanging around here a lot more in the future!

Ed
2017-8-6
Use props
Bekaru Tree
Second Officer
Flight distance : 15513100 ft
South Africa

Hey Ed, welcome
1st question; whilst building etc may distort gps for me it is the loss of RC signal that worries me as greatest risk. When working in built up areas set you drone to RTH if radio signal is lost / disconnected - will then rise to set height and go home. Bewre though of doing this in forests as it will rise into branches and crash. So when flying in forest i think you absolutely must at all times maintain VLOS - otherwise you will crash into something for sure.