Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Inspire 1 looses all power and falls to the ground
1857 12 2015-5-10
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
zeffa
lvl.1
Flight distance : 775308 ft
  • >>>
New Zealand

On 5th May 2015 I upgraded to firmware 1.2.1.0
Later that day I was descending to land, after a 3 minute flight on a fully charged battery.
It was a calm day sunny day, with no wind.
At about 8m above the ground the Inspire 1 lost all power and crashed.

There is an Incredibly dangerous and potentially fatal floor in this firmware.

Up until this point the performance of the Inspire 1 had been floor less, with multiple firmware upgrades and flights with no problems what so ever.

I am a trained professional and have clocked 170+ hours on my Inspire, and use it commercially to produce aerial video content.

On the 6th May version 1.2.1.03 came out.

Am I the most unlucky SOB ?
Would this crash had happened if I hadent flowen on the 5th and upgraded on the 6th ? lol

I have since heard of 4 other craft that have suffer the same fate on 1.2.1.0

If you havent upgraded to 1.2.1.03, I would highly recomend it !

2015-5-10
Use props
Boogieman
First Officer
Flight distance : 5611893 ft
  • >>>
United States

What does the battery show in its history?
2015-5-10
Use props
GB44
Captain
Flight distance : 343848 ft
United Kingdom

I wonder if this is the issues I have experienced whilst in simulator mode also.    Weak Transmission Signal, then out of no way controller disconnects altogether.  If this happened in mid flight it should in theory activate a return to home, but this has never happened yet in the simulator.  It simply disconnects from the aircraft and the aircraft is left hovering in the simulator.  So I am presuming if this can happen in the simulator it could also happen in actual flight, which is a serious safety issue especially if it fails to return home.
2015-5-10
Use props
TravisSRT
Second Officer