Fix for "NO MC DATA- ACCELEROMETER FAILED" if caused by impact.
123Next >
58342 106 2015-6-8
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
DivenDog
lvl.3
Flight distance : 1087028 ft
United States

How to fix when your Phantom 3 is getting the error NO MC DATA ACCELEROMETER FAILED and gimbal cannot receive MC data.

Hello all,
I have posted this in a couple of other threads, I just want to make sure that it gets seen.  I hate to think about people having to ship the brand-new Phantom to DJI and wait 8 plus weeks to get it back and to top it off you find out that it's not covered under warranty because you crashed it.  So I apologize for the redundancy in advance.

Let me start off by saying I'm not a newbie when it comes to flying quads, hexs and RC Helis for many years. However, I am when it comes to DJI Phantom's.   That being said what happened to mine was still a result of my own fault.   Initially in the settings I set my RTH at 15% battery power.  My battery was low I had my phantom hovering about 4 feet high and I was walking with the Phantom front of me down the sidewalk back to my house from the park .  My battery level was 16% and I started to land it,  it must've switched to 15% right at that very moment when the Phantom decided to RTH then immediately started elevating in altitude smacked into a tree branch that I was under, then rolled 90° and from about 6 foot elevation crashed into the sidewalk.  Aesthetically the aircraft seem fine just a couple of scratches on the two arms it hit the sidewalk. However after recharging the battery and trying to restart the aircraft  within 30 to 60 seconds get the NO MC DATA-  ACCELEROMETER FAILED error and gimbal cannot receive MC data.  The gimbal was producing the DD DD DD DD DD error tones and the camera was limp.  I could not calibrate the IMU.

So here's what I did to fix it. (Note: You may want to read Zandegran's post below and try before disassembly. Could save you some time.)