Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
White Balance Frustration
13684 22 2016-1-7
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
GComm_Osmo
New

United States

I'm a pro user with a new Osmo... I'm having trouble with the white balance of the camera (X3).
Is there no way of locking the white balance or manually setting a true custom WB?

What is called a  "custom" WB seems to be just a Kelvin temp selector...
I need a true custom white balance function as exists in just about every other digital camera in the world;
point the camera at a neutral color - gray or white - press a button and lock in that white balance.

Alternately (or additionally) I would like to lock the camera's AWB, so that once it automatically white balances the color won't drift if the camera moves.

Some other notes about where the white balance features seem painfully primitive:
Let's call the "Custom" setting "Kelvin" because that's what it seems to be.
The exterior daylight presets should include "Shade" as well as "Cloudy" and "Sunny".
"Neon"? What the heck is "Neon"? DJI must mean "Fluorescent".
BTW, "Fluorescent" is nowhere close to any fluorescent source I've been under so far.

For bonus points:
How about a 4-way matrix of blue/amber & green/magenta to manually offset any white ballance setting?

If anyone has any insight into anything I've missed, or misunderstood, please chime in!
Thanks!

2016-1-7
Use props
Phantom Paul
lvl.3

Philippines

I second this! Will be great if we can have a real custom WB setting, not just a Kelvin temp selector as pointed out by GComm.
2016-1-7
Use props
jeff_kirkland
lvl.1

Australia

I agree - a true custom point-at-a-white-card-and-click white balance would be great - and probably not that hard to implement, so I'll keep my fingers crossed someone passes that thought onto the DJI engineering dept.