lens filter choice
1612 10 2016-1-27
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
tinner21
lvl.1

United States

Hello everyone, I'm new to photograpy and am wondering if anybody can give me recomendations on what filters to buy for my phantom 3 advanced?

2016-1-27
Use props
aopisa
lvl.4
Flight distance : 430686 ft
United States

If you are new to photography let me suggest you start with something more basic than filters. You should concentrate on things like understanding proper exposure, shutter speeds, frame rates and iso. You cannot take a good photo or video without knowing these things no matter how many filters you have. Learn what makes a good composition. Learning how to properly edit either a photo or a video is equally important too. Garbage in garbage out.

There are a lot of good videos and photos posted here and on skypixel.com as well as vimeo and youtube. There are plenty more awful, boring video and photos as well. Decide what you like and try to repeat it. Decide what you don't like and avoid doing that.

There really is a lot going on when flying a Phantom and trying to get good shots while racing against the battery clock. Adding filters is just one more complication you do not need until you gain some confidence and experience.
This is a creative process. Find out your style and develop it. You don't need extra stuff to do that....yet.

Good luck and have fun.

However, to satisfy your curiosity, people use Neutral Denisty (ND) filters to let in less light since the camera aperture is fixed to achieve a cinematic motion blur effect by shooting at a shutter speed that is twice the frame rate. You do not need a circular polarizing filter ever on a moving drone.

2016-1-27
Use props
tinner21
lvl.1

United States

aopisa Posted at 2016-1-27 20:59
If you are new to photography let me suggest you start with something more basic than filters. You s ...