iPad Mini 4 cellular won't connect but iPad wifi does - SOLVED
2019 5 2016-3-29
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Jennesser
lvl.1

Hi, I'm brand new to drones and bought a Phantom 4.  I also bought a brand new iPad Mini 4 with cellular and cannot get it to connect within the DJI Go app (all I see is "How to Connect"). The only app on the Mini 4 is the DJI app. Wifi, cellular, and Bluetooth on or off, it doesn't matter. I tried a hard reset, multiple lightning cables, nothing. I tried another iPad Mini 4 with cellular and an iPad Air 2 cellular. And neither could connect.  However, an iPad Air 2 wifi only and iPad Mini 3 wifi only DO connect without a problem and fly fine.

The Apple Store replaced the Phantom 4 but I'm still having the same problem. What am I missing?  Searching forums it looks like no one else is having this problem so it must just be me.  Thanks for any insight and helping me out.

Joe
2016-3-29
Use props
Geebax
First Officer
Australia

I am not certain of this advice, but it is worth a try. When you device connects for the first time, it tries to connect to the DJI web site, and that might be the issue. If the WiFi only versions can connect, then they are possibly able to make the internet connection. With the cellular versions, try setting up the WiFi connection in the iPad to your local system (if you have one) and you might find it works OK.
2016-3-30
Use props
Jennesser
lvl.1

Thanks Geebax, appreciate your idea but that didn't help.
Called DJI, they couldn't help. Suggested I wipe and start fresh.  I tried a full "Erase All Content and Settings" and set up as a new iPad (no cloud restore), installed the DJI app, still nothing.  

So then I plugged the iPad into my MacBook and used that to erase and set up as a new iPad. That actually worked. No idea why a "cloud" Erase all Content and Settings" would be different than a wired one, but that did the trick.  It's working now!
2016-3-30
Use props
Durkdeboer
New

Netherlands