Canada

Just curious to know if the Zenmuse X4S will be compatible with Inspire 1

2016-11-15
Use props
Hooks
lvl.3
Flight distance : 226450 ft
Canada

I am very curious about this as well, the new sensor and 20mp images would be pretty nice for photogrammetry
2016-11-15
Use props
Cabralkev
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1997861 ft
Canada

I'd purchase this camera instead of the I2. I don't think the I2 is worth the upgrade. I'm a single operator, so the FPV is useless for me. The camera is what I am interested in.
2016-11-15
Use props
Jkeller84
Second Officer
Flight distance : 396955 ft
  • >>>
United States

Unlikely. The mounts look to be different.
2016-11-15
Use props
Cougar1
Second Officer
Flight distance : 924393 ft
  • >>>
Canada

Sorry, it will not. Inspire 2 has a different system and nothing fits from the I1.
2016-11-15
Use props
Hemiboy899
lvl.2
Flight distance : 18205 ft
South Korea

Cabralkev Posted at 2016-11-16 06:54
I'd purchase this camera instead of the I2. I don't think the I2 is worth the upgrade. I'm a single  ...

I'm with you on that
2016-11-15
Use props
Hooks
lvl.3
Flight distance : 226450 ft
Canada

Dang, I was hoping for some kind of retro-fit option.  I am looking at the P4P now as the cheapest upgrade path to 20mp sensor.  
2016-11-15
Use props
Farnk666
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1711394 ft
Australia

It's a case of complete re-purchase folks - nothing from the 2 will fit the 1.

It's a design choice by DJI, but it doesn't make your I1 worthless or obsolete - just get out there and keep flying.
IMHO, there's little there to dictate abandoning your existing gear unless:

1 - You have commercial clients who require the data delivered in the new formats quickly. (i.e. no time for data transfer via cinelight)
2 - You're a cinematographer who is chasing/requires the higher bitrate and resolution.
3 - You have a specific need for the forward speed they took away from us in version 1.3 of the firmware.