Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Electromagnetic Interference?
6364 17 2016-12-22
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
zach5150
lvl.3
Flight distance : 225148 ft
Germany

I'm in Heidelberg Germany on vacation and have been trying to get some flight time in. Several times, in different parts of town I've gotten the a warning indicating 'Strong magnetic interference which could cause RC control issues' (or something similar, not verbatim) This warning has occurred prior to takeoff, so I've moved the mavic to another area near the original launch location and sometimes the warning no longer appears and other times it continues to come up unless I move to a completely different location.  

I'm more RF savvy than many and I understand RF and electromagnetic interference fairly well. I'm not an Electrical Engineer but I was a Navy Electronics technician, worked in the semiconductor industry with RF and microwave, and in cellular test labs doing RF parametric testing.

Evaluating the launch areas where I've received this warning, I don't see any obvious signs of EM interfere. No transformers. No antenna masts or cell towers. No overhead power lines. Nothing metallic in the area. Nothing obvious. I suppose there could be something underground such as power lines, piping, or something of the sort, but has anyone else experienced this? I didn't see this warning one single time when flying back in the US. Is there something unique about European city infrastructure (underground cabling, etc...) that I'm unaware of?

I'm on the latest v1.03 firmware.

2016-12-22
Use props
BuzzCut
Second Officer

United States

I'm also no RF engineer (although I work in the telecom industry and have a working knowledge).  The only thing that's more common in Europe is underground power lines.