Home Point without GPS
2043 8 2014-10-5
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
LightsUpLoud
lvl.1

United States

Hello, I'm a fairly new P2v+ owner, about 20-30 flights and I've been flying my "trainer" Blade qx 180 quadcopter for a couple of months previous. I fly a lot in forests so generally I'm not hooked up with GPS until I get about the canopy.  Will that be considered my home point when I link up to GPS or is it when the blades are engaged?  I lost signal briefly the other day and after I got it back, it really made me wonder, is that a great way to lose it?  Thanks.
2014-10-5
Use props
Tony
lvl.4
Flight distance : 2856060 ft
  • >>>
United States

It is my understanding that a home point is not recorded until you have 6+ satellites and the LEDs flash quick green. So, to answer your question, if you take off without 6+ satellites (very dangerous and could lead to a ton of problems), you will not have a home lock. Then, as you describe, you get above the canopy and all of the sudden you get 6+ satellites, the LEDs will blink quick green and you will now have a set home point. This is bad, really bad. If after that point for some reason you lose the link from your transmitter, the unit will go into Return to Home mode and start heading back to that point, above the canopy. Then, if you do not regain control or can not recover connection, it will start to slowly descend.... right into the trees. Bye bye birdie, unless you have a ladder or are a great tree climber.

You can, of course, turn off RTH in the assistant software. Probably not a good idea, but it may be the less of two evils in your situation. You would also have to turn off RTH on Low Battery as well. This is really a terrible idea, in my opinion. You want RTH. At least I do. I wouldn't fly without it. That's just me.

Hope this helps. Looking forward to other's input on this. Curious what everyone's thoughts are.

And I would love to see some of that Forest footage. Sounds amazing!
2014-10-5