Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Alpine Aerials - Taking first steps with the Mavic
1357 10 2017-2-1
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
trickn0l0gy
lvl.1
Flight distance : 156040 ft
Switzerland

Hello,

So, finally, I have finished my first drone video. It was filmed in Switzerland and Austria. I am still new to the game and thus, you will probably find quite a few flaws and room for improvement. I sure did.  =)

Here's the video:

Things, that I will fix for the next video:
  • the green line at the bottom is a bug caused by Pinnacle 20 when you use hardware acceleration on export.
  • my gimbal seems to be not 100% horizontally balanced on some of the recordings. Calibration helped with that, but not completely. To be 100% level I have to manually correct gimbal roll by +1.0.
  • maybe increase bitrate for the videos to get rid of compression artifacts.
  • get ND/CP filters to help with glare from snow.

Any other suggestions?

Thank you!

2017-2-1
Use props
A1000
lvl.4
Flight distance : 149760 ft
United Kingdom

Good starting point and some nice footage.  I'm guessing the city at the beginning was Zurich?  Like you I have a lot to learn and am going to invest in ND filters as they're almost essential for decent footage, especially when you have high contrast such as snow, or direct/low sunlight.  Getting smooth movements on the Mavic is important and comes with practice. Like you I saw some compression artifacts at 4K but probably a mixture of ND and higher bit rate will solve this.

You're lucky to have such beautiful countryside to practice in! Keep up the good work.
2017-2-1
Use props
trickn0l0gy
lvl.1
Switzerland

Thanks for your feedback. Yes, you are right. The city is Zürich, Switzerland. I live 5 mins on foot from the botanic garden. It's lovely here.

I just bought a set of filters ND/CP. Hope to be able to test them soon.
2017-2-1
Use props
A1000
lvl.4
Flight distance : 149760 ft