Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
CinemaDNG or ProRes or both?
22774 10 2017-2-5
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
NJ Flying Slow
lvl.4
Flight distance : 765909 ft
United States

Hey folks, totally new to the realm of raw video.  I'm considering getting a license for my I2.  I'm very well acclimated with raw photos and have been shooting raw in photography for about 13 years.  That said, I realize raw video must be a different beast, albeit way more time consuming which intimidates me (I have 4 kids and a pretty demanding job).  Anyway, my question is I already have FCP and if I wanted to get my feet wet should I just get the prores apple raw license (and associated SSD and reader) or should I get both keys.  I have no idea what cinemaDNG would give me and or if I would need a new program to edit the video in. Clearly I'm a newbie so any directional support and help would be ideal.  Thank you in advance.  
2017-2-5
Use props
rmaxwell.dccnet
First Officer
Flight distance : 698661 ft
  • >>>
Canada

See this thread for a good discussion:  http://forum.dji.com/thread-83296-1-1.html
2017-2-5
Use props
NanoPixel.Studi
lvl.1
Flight distance : 311673 ft
United States

I have been doing a lot of research on this and when I ordered my I2 bundle,  I settled on getting just the Apple Pro Res for the following reasons.
Cinema DNG
Pro's:
*Gives you the most control over color and formats for professional film making and live stream broadcasting.
*It out performs the ARRI Alexa mini which is regarded as the best professional film mking camera on the market. It cost $36,ooo for just the body!
*Cinema DNG at 5.2k also out performs Black Magic URSA and the Sony AS7II in 4k UHD
Cons:
*File sizes are massive and require a ton of storage
* You will need a beast of a machine to handle these files and render these comps within your lifetime. Adding After Effects SFX and music to the mix will only add to your misery .