How to charge a Mavic Pro battery while on a motorcycle?
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
CynicalZombie
lvl.4
Flight distance : 179813 ft
United States

One of the main reasons I bought the Mavic Pro instead of the Phantom 4 Pro was due to its portability. I can throw the fly more bag into my saddle bag and away I go. Currently I have the ability to charge my iPhone and GoPro batteries while riding by using an Anker PowerCore 20100 from Amazon. I had hoped I would be able to do the same with a Mavic battery. But as I understand it, I can't charge Mavic batteries by USB. That is unfortunate. Since I bought the Fly More package I do have the car charger so I'm covered if I'm driving but I'm looking for a portable solution to charge a Mavic battery out in the field with my bike.

Any ideas?

On Reddit someone suggested a 12v power adapter.  I'm far from an expert on batteries but the fact that the Mavic batteries can't be charged via USB (can someone explain why?) and the manual for the car charger states... "Use the car charger when the engine is running to attain optimal performance" tells me that even though the battery is only about 900 mAh larger than my iPhone 7 Plus battery, it must use more power or something to charge the mavic battery.
Any battery experts here?

2017-4-5
Use props
4wesomeAdam
lvl.4
United States

Why could you not bring the A/C charger and charge it at a Starbucks, or hotel room for example?

From my understanding motorcycle batteries only recharge if the engine is running at approximately 4k or 5k rpms. I use a battery tender for my bike's battery.

If you are drawing off your motorcycle battery in excess of what the engine can charge it, you are risking not being able to start the bike.

I suggest using a portable battery with a d/c car adapter where you could connect the DJI D/C charger.
2017-4-5
Use props
jreynolds5
lvl.3
Flight distance : 535341 ft
United States