2436 44 2017-4-13
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
JhnMjr
lvl.1
Flight distance : 43829 ft
United States

Hello Folks,
I'm new to DJI and the Phantom, but not RC aircraft. I bought a Phantom 4 Pro for work a week ago today with the intent of using it to get arial video of some equipment we manufacture and also some photos of our facilities. Most use would be under 100 feet of altitude and within a 100 foot radious of the pilot.
Today, I was using it to get some still shots of one of our factories. It was hovering around 50 feet when suddently, without warning, it tiped to one side and spirialed stright to the ground where it crashed. At the time it happened, I wasn't making any movement on the sticks as I was about to take a photo. I've reviewed the flight record and don't seem to see much information. Within a second of it falling, I start getting a series of messages. I get several "Gimbal Roll Reached Movement Limit", a bunch of "GPS Position NoMatch" and one "Attitude too Large. Exit Rear Obstacle Sensing." about 20 feet before it hits.
There isn't much else that pops out to me as significant. I'm happy to upload the record if someone has interest in looking at it.

I have two questions... First, has anyone had or heard of this happening? and second, does anyone have a guess if this will be covered under warrenty? Up to this point, it has flown perfectly and without any incident.

I've already filled out the form online and the unit is flying overnight to DJI in California (with the help of UPS)   Hopefully it won't take long to get an assessment from them.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions and thoughts.

-John
2017-4-13
Use props
DJI-Jamie
DJI team
Flight distance : 112405 ft
United States

How close to the factory was it?
2017-4-13
Use props
JhnMjr
lvl.1
United States

DJI-Jamie Posted at 2017-4-13 16:40
How close to the factory was it?

About 140 feet
2017-4-13
Use props
Mark The Droner
First Officer
Flight distance : 2917 ft
United States