GOP/Keyframe 0.3-0.5 stop brightness changes in shadow-midtones :(
1127 12 2017-4-19
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
michaeldk
lvl.1
Cyprus

Hey all,

Purchased my drone in Cyprus - very recently produced - the 15th of April. Noticed that my shadows felt very "jittery" and not smooth. First thought it was lack of ND filter that caused it, but in the end comparing to other Mavic footage mine looked pretty useless at times. Finally managed to nail down the issue.

Every 8 frames the brightness resets to either darker or lighter than the 8 frames before, and significantly so (up to half a stop). It only does so in the shadow areas and darker midtones, and mostly in areas that are more uniform and with limited color saturation.  I called DJI and they told me that downgrading the firmware might help, as their last firmware possibly had some fault that could cause this.

Sadly the visual defect is still present and ruins a lot of my shots. I'm not a video expert, but I am a very experienced photographer by education and have around 2 decades of high end image processing/manipulation behind me. And I don't think that this issue is 'user error' .

Things I tried:
- 4k, 2.7k.
- 24/30 fps
- Sharpening to +1, 0 and -1 (for the famous waterpainting shadow issue, thought this might be related but it wasn't)
- MOV/MP4 (shouldn't matter, but hey, it's free so why not)
- Installing lens hood (modified gimbal protector), making sure prop shade was not the issue (sun from behind etc).
- Trying to remove it with 1-frame nudge and opacity to 50% (To even out brightness). Small improvement, but major decrease in sharpness. No go.

Any tips or advice would be highly appreciated. I need to use the Mavic for a documentary that I'm shooting next week (11 day trip to Spain) and can't realistically afford to not have it with me during that time frame. Thank you very much
2017-4-19
Use props
Ex Machina
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1806362 ft
United States