DJI Phantom 3 Standard battery won't charge
13695 11 2017-4-21
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
ToranWhitaker
New

United States

Okay. So I bought a used Phantom 3 Standard that didn't come with a battery charger. I bought one and plugged it into the battery so I could get to flyin'. There isn't much info on how the batteries work and the manual isn't much clearer so I figured I'd ask on here.

So I plug the battery in. About every five seconds the green light and the red light flash. The red stays solid. The LED blinks three times. Then they go off for another five seconds. Does this mean it's charging? I've also turned on the battery to see if it makes a difference. The red stays solid the entire time while the green blinks. I was waiting to see if that'd get a charge but I believe at some pointed it started flashing how it was before. Is there something I'm doing wrong? I'm a newbie.
2017-4-21
Use props
ToranWhitaker
New

United States

Neither seem to be making any progress on the battery.
2017-4-21
Use props
DJI-Jamie
DJI team
Flight distance : 112405 ft
United States

Could you happen to provide a small video of the LED sequence you're getting on the battery?
2017-4-21
Use props
ToranWhitaker
New

United States

2017-4-21
Use props
solentlife
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1087530 ft
Latvia

Try this ... turn battery on first before connecting charger ....

I would hazard a guess that the battery has been hibernating a long time OR previous owner drained it too low and now its possibly reluctant to 'wake-up' .... if he did discharge too low - then its likely damaged.

If it was me - I would keep repeating switch on -- plug in ... see if it can be made to 'wake up'.

Nigel
2017-4-21
Use props
Peterx
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1499708 ft
Germany

Normally the battery is reacting so that the LED bar is blinking and the switch button is solid red. Mostly the bar is showing to be longer.