Camera Settings
1349 12 2017-4-23
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Ice Viper
lvl.1
United States

Clinic 1 Small.jpg

I'm still a newbie at this aerial photography thing and I know that shadows are probably inevitable given the position of the sun, but what could I do, besides post production, in my settings to enhance this photo? I'm really struggling to understand the whole ISO, shutter speed, and white balance settings. I know I should probably be experimenting with different settings while the P3S is in the air, but it's not always easy to see the settings on an iPhone. I'm considering an iPad, but could use some help until then. Suggestions???
2017-4-23
Use props
Andy1963
lvl.2
Flight distance : 40548 ft
United Kingdom

The higher the ISO the more light will come into the camera sensor, So in very light conditions go down to iso 100... In darker conditions go up in ISO which will make things look brighter, Shutter speed is what it says if you want to catch something thats moving the faster the shutter speed it will freeze your subject, White balance will best be left in auto you could do that in your choice of software,,, IE photoshop, CC,  !!! hope this helps.
2017-4-23
Use props
Labroides
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 9991457 ft
  • >>>
Australia

You can't do a lot with that shot.
It's always going to have the problems of dark foreground, bright sky and brighter sun.
There's too much contrast between bright and dark.
Try turning your camera around and shooting with the sun instead of looking into it, to get a more uniform brightness across your frame.
2017-4-23
Use props
Geebax
First Officer
Australia

The first thing you could do is not shoot into the sun. It is a pretty simple camera, but like all cameras, the automatic mode will expose for the brightest thing in the frame, and that's the sun.
2017-4-23
Use props
Simon Child
lvl.4
Flight distance : 153852 ft
United Kingdom