699 5 2017-4-28
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Dennis D
lvl.3
Flight distance : 143468 ft
  • >>>
United States

Let me start by saying I'm a newbie to drones, but I have almost 50 years experience in photography.  I've viewed some videos on the use of ND filters that "showed" how using more dense filters resulted in darker images. Sorry, but that is not a true representation of why to use ND filters or what happens when you use them. If your exposure settings are "automatic" then the resultant images will be the same, regardless of which ND filter is used. The most informative post (wish I saved the name) was using ND filters to adjust shutter speed or apeture to produce a desired effect. The attached image sequence shows that the same "exposure" is obtained regardless of using an ND filter or not. The post I read suggested that you should use a shutter speed that is at least twice as fast as the FPS you're shooting. That may be a good rule-of-thumb for a starting point, but different situations may require tweaking the settings.
ND Filter Compare.jpg
2017-4-28
Use props
Geebax
Captain
Australia

I may be wrong here, but you appear to be relating the use of ND filters to still photos. While there are some situations where they might be beneficial to stills, the main reason for the use of ND filters on the Phantom aircraft is for video, specifically the earlier P3 and P4 aircraft that had fixed focus, fixed aperture lenses.

The idea is to introduce some blur to the frames by getting the shutter speed down to twice the frame rate. This has the effect of hiding the staccato effect of low frame rates by using the resultant blur to soften the transition from frame to frame. Shutter spee3d was the only method available within the camera, other than ISO to reduce the light, so it was necessary to use ND filters to get it down to a manageable level.