Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Understanding Autofocus
2298 8 2017-5-15
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Bunraku
lvl.3
Flight distance : 4583 ft
United Kingdom

Hi

Just got my Mavic, but previously using P3P. The P3P did all the work for me filming as I just kept it on Auto for everything as i'm not a photography expert.

However with the Mavic I believe when launched I would have to Tap the Screen anywhere I wanted to focus on. But since then there has been a Firmware upgrade that means I can Continuously Auto Focus. If CAF was like my old P3P i'd be happy, but I believe the CAF only focuses when Stationary and not moving. Correct me if I am wrong on this.

1) So if the CAF doesn't work like the P3P's camera is it still decent?

2) And If I decide to go for Tap to Focus is it just 1 Tap and you're focused for the whole flight or is it

Take Off-Horizon Tap
Fly half a mile and then change direction Tap
See a monument or building Tap(Assuming it's something I want to use POI mode on I assume I tap it at the start of the Orbit and that's it focused for th whole Orbit?)

Sorry if my post sounds stupid, but I liked just pointing my old P3P at something and just recording. This seems a bit of a pain in the @SS compared if you're a simple hobbyist and not a professional photographer.
2017-5-15
Use props
dronist
Captain
  • >>>
United States

You are correct. I use the C1 button to AF, C2  to bring the camera setting. P3, P4 were really awsone with the AF.
2017-5-15
Use props
Matt-and-Riley
First Officer
Flight distance : 324442 ft
United Kingdom

The P3 hasn't got any focus settings and can't do autofocus, it's just in focus unless you get close.