Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
So I bought a drone without warranty?
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
trggrhppylmbx
lvl.1
United States

I am new to drone flying in general and to DJI in particular. Two weeks ago I bought a refurbished Phantom 3S at the largest local electronics store, Fry's Electronics, which sells a wide range of drones. I bought the drone unaware of DJI's policy to refuse warranty to people who did not buy from a DJI reseller. Neither the packaging nor the store indicated, that I would be buying a drone without a warranty.

My question is, how am I as a consumer to know, that I have to go online before I make a purchase to find out whether my dealer is on the 'approved' list? Do you go online to find out whether your car dealer or household appliance dealer is on the approved list?

While I don't need warranty service right now, I find it disconcerting that I as a consumer am singled out by a manufacturer because I trusted that a drone sold by a major dealer is not covered by warranty and essentially left with an inferior product. How do other drone newbies find out that they have to go online every time they buy some bit or piece for their drone to find out whether the store happens to be on the 'approved' list? And how many of you have found out after the fact that their drone is not covered?

Finally, can I still buy DJI care or am i out of luck on that, too?

2017-5-24
Use props
Punchbuggy
Captain
Flight distance : 483166 ft
  • >>>
Australia

Hi. Sorry, I can't answer your question but there's something I'm not clear on. You said it's a "refurbished Phantom" bought from a store. How did the store get refurbished drones to sell? If the drones are refurbished by DJI and sourced from DJI by the store, then surely that makes the store a reseller for warranty purposes? If refurbished by a 3rd-party, then yes - you take your chances.
2017-5-24
Use props
trggrhppylmbx
lvl.1