I am new to drones this is my first Phantom 3 Advanced
1364 19 2017-5-25
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
J.dickinson0432
lvl.1

United Kingdom

Whe I am set up to fly I click on the little up arrow which brings up th slider, So when I slide accross to activate take off to 1.5 mtrs nothing happens I have to Start up by use of Controler sticks to bottom then have to lift off with use of controller sticks. As a newbe I just want drone to lift up to 1.5 mtrs

Jeff
2017-5-25
Use props
RicardoGray
Second Officer
Flight distance : 4356421 ft
United States

Yes, you need to start the motors first. Bring both sticks to either the lower outward or inward position, and your motors should start up. Read your manual if you have it or look it up on DJI website. Not trying to be harsh with you, but every new pilot should read through the manual at least a couple of times to understand what is going on, how to do certain things, and what to expect when you give certain commands. Not doing so is a very good way to get yourself into trouble. Don't get me wrong, you have a valid question here. Actually I don't know too many that use the auto takeoff. Not saying it is wrong, but I believe most of us just push up on the left stick to gain altitude and feel like we may have more control. Just saying. Make sure you aren't under a tree or any obstacles that it could rise up into. Be safe.
2017-5-25
Use props
pasaytenpete
lvl.3
Flight distance : 47346 ft
United States

I have a P3 Pro and as long as I have Ready to Go and GPS lock and in "P" mode,  it will auto takeoff with the slider...   w/o GPS lock,  it will not auto take off.  Not sure if the P3 Advanced works the same.
Auto Takeoff and Auto Landing

Auto Takeoff
Use auto takeoff only if the Aircraft Status Indicators are blinking green. Follow the steps below to use the auto takeoff feature:
1. Launch the DJI Pilot app, and enter “Camera” page.
2. Ensure the aircraft is in P- mode.