Missing flight record
635 2 2018-5-4
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Karen Ritson Brenan
lvl.1

United Kingdom

hi, firstly I’m a beginner so sorry

I was flying my air on the beach on holiday & it disconnected, didn’t return home, flew around a bit (to the point my husband who was there and didn’t know it had disconnected thought I’d gone mad) then flew over the sea and that’s where it ended up.  I managed to retrieve it.

I’ve been speaking to DJI about what happened,  but the last flight record on my cloud has it landing (on land) there is nothing unusual.

DJI can’t investigate as they don’t have the flight record, but I can’t provide what isn’t there.

Any ideas? Where can I get it or how can it be missing.

I could claim on my holiday insurance but at the moment that’s going to mean lying and just saying I dropped it in the sea or something, which obviously I don’t want to do as that’s fraud.  

And I don’t really want to buy another without knowing what happened or what I did.

After my drone went down there was someone else flying, could it have been them trying to connect and accidentally connected to mine somehow. My other theory is that the gps was out somehow, although the home point is correct, but there was something like 16 satilites so unsure that could be it
2018-5-4
Use props
Jack Beans
lvl.2

United States

Did you do any pre-flight checks?  Set home point?  
2018-5-4
Use props
Karen Ritson Brenan
lvl.1

United Kingdom

Yes, initialy I thought maybe my home point was wrong, but on checking it wasn’t.  The last flight recorded has the pilot (me) landing it, and DJI thought I’d landed it in the sea......

I did worry that was the case, until I realised that the GPS location of the home point and any photos taken on the flight were correct and where I saw it go down didn’t match where the gps shows landed