Does the Mini change remote control frequencies while flying?
4742 20 2020-5-6
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
dk5ras
lvl.1
Germany

Hi all,
I wonder if the Mini does change remote control frequencies and bands while in the air, when interference shows? As a wireless communications engineer I know quite well that up in the air interference patterns are quite different from being on the ground, so for me such functionality would be a 100% must-have.

With best regards

Ralph.
2020-5-6
Use props
Cetacean
Captain
Flight distance : 2528264 ft
  • >>>
United States

Aloha Ralph,

The Mavic Mini does not change between 2.4 GHz and 5.8 GHz.  Some parts of the world do not allow 5.8 GHz and I am sure you are well aware of that.  These comments are for other Forum Members that may read this post.  But within 2.4 GHz or 5.8 GHz, the bands are changed to optimize transmission.  I get 5.8 GHz over here and it is working well so far.

Hope this helps!

Be safe!

Aloha and Drone On!
2020-5-7
Use props
Brucom
lvl.2
Flight distance : 10171 ft
Italy

Hi
Good question, I had the same doubt but no reply till now.
2020-5-7
Use props
sbonev
Second Officer
Flight distance : 3665279 ft
Switzerland

Brucom Posted at 5-7 02:47
Hi
Good question, I had the same doubt but no reply till now.

no, they are not changed during flight, even channel stays the same i think.you can only change before take off.
2020-5-7
Use props
Renato61
Second Officer
Flight distance : 168163 ft
Italy

Did you mean to ask if he changes channels within the band? I do not know.
2020-5-7
Use props
itchyeyeballs
lvl.4
United Kingdom

I've wondered this as well however I noticed if I manually switch between 2.4Ghz & 5.8 Ghz I get a message about wifi rebooting, I doubt it would do this during flight so assume it stays with the one it picks when first switched on.
2020-5-7
Use props
crash1sttime
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1226368 ft
United Kingdom

yes and no.