DJI Mavic Pro CRASH
1692 1 2016-12-14
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
3ric Johanson
lvl.1

United States

I have about 8 hours of total flight time with DJI drones, including Phantom3, 4 and Inspire. I am by no means an expert. I received my Mavic Pro yesterday, and it has gone on one test flight.

Tonight I wanted to do another test.  It had a full charge and a freshly calibrated compass.   It had a full GPS lock and seemed to be in good shape.  I was launching from a foot bridge which had metal poles about 15' away. Not a great location, but less dodgy than many sites.

Launch was, ok, but it started to drift almost right away - then the controls stopped responding. The app reported ATTI mode, and it proceeded to slowly drift.. the controls had no effect at all; I tried both the position control and the altitude control.  Around that time the DJI go app crashed.  Shortly thereafter the Mavic Pro crashed into a metal pole, and fell about 20' to the rocks below the bridge.  

I believe the drone is totaled.  (gimbal ripped off, all props destroyed, motors no longer spin, battery casing cracked).

I can't seem to access the onboard logs; going into "flight data mode" gives me an additional drive letter but I can't access any files; it does let me access the video sdcard.

I was able to scrape the log from the DJI Go app in txt format.   Here's my raw file:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.co ... _%5B20-37-07%5D.txt

This link may be a parsing of it:
http://www.phantomhelp.com/LogViewer/F9QUC2YGAKJKASI7VH7Z/

Yes, it was dark.  Yes, I could have had a better place to launch/land.  I'm happy to have critical feedback on what I did wrong.  That said, I still have some questions which maybe someone can answer: