Flying at Night, runaway drone
2878 5 2017-7-7
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
airwang
New
United States

This happened to me twice tonight. I lauched the spark from my balcony on the 37th floor, and the drone just started flying off into the distance even though I stopped controlling it. Usually when I take my thumbs off the controls (using the iPhone), the drone hovers in place.  However tonight, it would just keep going instead of hovering in place. Eventually it would land itself and I would have to go on a mission to find it.

This happened twice tonight, and it's my first time flying at night so i'm wondering if it's related to that. Has anyone had a similar experience?
2017-7-7
Use props
fansf7fa979c
Second Officer
Flight distance : 899951 ft
  • >>>
United States

If you are flying in the U.S. you are not supposed to fly at night without a commercial license. If you do not have GPS lock, the drone will use optical sensors to stabilize. They do not work in the dark. This is explained in the manual. Launching from a balcony for a first test flight of flying in the dark sounds pretty reckless to me even if you live in a region where there are no laws against flying at night.
2017-7-7
Use props
fansdbce68d7
lvl.2
Flight distance : 349793 ft
United States

fansf7fa979c Posted at 2017-7-7 22:00
If you are flying in the U.S. you are not supposed to fly at night without a commercial license. If you do not have GPS lock, the drone will use optical sensors to stabilize. They do not work in the dark. This is explained in the manual. Launching from a balcony for a first test flight of flying in the dark sounds pretty reckless to me even if you live in a region where there are no laws against flying at night.

Sorry, you have this backwards. Recreational night flights ARE allowed, you only need special exemptions to operate at night commercially.

http://dronelawjournal.com/model-aircraft-operations/