Prop Guards
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
LOTO
lvl.1
United States

Newbie here and just took my first flight yesterday and have a couple of questions about prop guards for my DJI 3 Standard and thanks in advance for any input.

1.) After install, the prop guards have kind of a quick release for removing the guards and the base/attachment stays connected....this quick release fits snug but does not fully lock in and has anyone had a prop guard fall off during flight?

2.) If a prop guard falls off during flight does it throw the DJI out of balance and will the DJI crash?

3.) There are short pieces of string included with the prop guards and I am assuming that these pieces of string are for connecting the prop guards to the DJI so that of it does fall off the prop guard isn't lost. If the guard falls off and is attached by string to the DJI can the prop guard or string become entangled somehow with the DJI?

Again, thanks in advance for input.   

2017-7-18
Use props
LOTO
lvl.1
United States

I did a search and found out what the string is for but would appreciate any information on how it would effect the stability of a flight if a prop guard were to fall off in flight?
2017-7-18
Use props
dancopter
lvl.4
Flight distance : 17901030 ft
  • >>>
United Arab Emirates

Should be fine if a prop guard falls off during flight. Unless it takes out a propellor though.

Beware that prop guards will increase wind drag too.
2017-7-18
Use props
LOTO
lvl.1
United States

dancopter Posted at 2017-7-18 08:51
Should be fine if a prop guard falls off during flight. Unless it takes out a propellor though.

Beware that prop guards will increase wind drag too.

I went ahead and installed the prop guards and these are the quick detach so they can easily be removed. After  I get more flight time under my belt I might take them off but I am practicing around my house for now and we live on 30 acres of heavily wooded, rolling hills so lots of obstacles
2017-7-18
Use props