Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Drone Insurance?
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
fans65013845
lvl.2
Flight distance : 38747 ft
United States

I was asked to be part of a video team to do a music video.  It's a charity cause, the video is part of a show that's being put on for a fallen police officer's family.   I've been flying DJI drones as a hobbyist for about 3 years, have hours of experience, and also have 100 of hours experience from flying RC airplanes.   All of my current videos are done in a rural area, usually of state parks......aerial landscapes in very low populated areas.  This video shoot is indoors and there will be people inside the venue, including a rock group with some professional, failrly popular musicians.  The police chief of the town, and several officers will also be there.  I've been flying indoors for a few weeks practicing inside my church.....yes I was given permission.  My question......I don't have UAV insurance.  I feel strongly about backing out of the shoot, in this day and age if anything goes wrong, and someone gets hurt, a lawsuit could ruin me.  What would you do?  I'm in the US, the video shoot would be in New York.
2017-8-26
Use props
GuitarFlyer47
lvl.2
Flight distance : 38747 ft
United States

After reading more into UAV liabilities I answered my own question.   I will not be doing the video shoot.  Even the AMA insurance does not cover you if you're flying over people at a venue.  Being a retired electronics engineer, and IT professional, I realize that either I can make a mistake, or the electronics can fail, or be affected by electrical interference.  I'll stick to flying over the trees here in Connecticut.
2017-8-26
Use props
DJI Susan
Administrator

Nice to hear that you have figured it out. Flight safety is always top priority.
2017-8-28
Use props
Genghis9
Second Officer
Flight distance : 961 ft
United States

GuitarFlyer47 Posted at 2017-8-26 06:02