Careful planning.
1901 16 2017-8-28
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
fansf778c8e8
lvl.1
Flight distance : 101417 ft
United States

Hello all   New to the forum  As a new pilot I spend a good deal of time pre planning my flights. Depending on situation and mitigating factors. Not unusual for me to spend hours planning a 6 minute flight. I have 5 hrs plus of flight time so far. Am I overthinking or is this about average for most?

Darrin

IMG_1672.JPG
2017-8-28
Use props
ALABAMA
Second Officer
Flight distance : 10442687 ft
United States

Better to be prudent and keep you're equipment, than foolish and lose it.
2017-8-28
Use props
marvzz
lvl.3
Flight distance : 23835 ft
United States

Unless you're recording for some sort of production, I think it's a bit much. But you can never be too careful. I think the most important thing is identifying any dangers in where you'll be flying.
2017-8-28
Use props
marvzz
lvl.3
Flight distance : 23835 ft
United States

Duplicated post...
2017-8-28
Use props
Peterx
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1499708 ft
Germany

Darrin,
i think your way is the right way to fly your "bird".  Before i plan a flight then i let the gimbal stay straight in front(not tilted down). Then i let my "bird" orbit me with low speed in different heights for the right height of RTH.
After that i take photos for each direction i need to plan the flight. I write the heights to the photos and verify them with the cards of the area the "bird" could(should) fly.and take clips. That´´s my way.
Thumbs up.
2017-8-28
Use props
RicardoGray
lvl.4
Flight distance : 4356421 ft
United States