Traveling w/ Spark for 1st time
1199 13 2017-9-11
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Schmo
lvl.1
Flight distance : 154921 ft
United States

In a few days I'll be taking my first trip with my Spark. I've researched all the airport/plane procedures so I think I'm good there. I'm more curious about bringing the drone to another part of the US (Chicago to Phoenix) and what to expect.

Should I do compass or IMU calibration?

May be in the mountains, is it true that if I don't have cell service, I cant fly at all? What are your recommendations for this, and how have I seen footage of people using the Spark in obscure locations, if its true. What about offline maps? Have never needed to do that before.

Another information you may think is useful would be appreciated. Thanks.
2017-9-11
Use props
Charles Adams
Second Officer
Flight distance : 3821312 ft
  • >>>
United States

I have some direct experience with some of your questions, but not all.

On the matter of calibration, my believe (and not direct knowledge) is that if you do travel some significant distance a compass calibration would be beneficial (due to the differences between magnetic/true north).

On the matter of flying in the mountains with no cell service.  I've done exactly that.  Yes you can fly (or I was able to).  You do not need cell service (I did not have cell service).

The only MINOR impact to flights is that air is thinner, the drone needs to work harder, and flight durations were different.  My unscientific observation was a loss of 15 seconds.
2017-9-11
Use props
DJI-Mark
Second Officer

United States

Always keep in mind that you should complete a compass calibration when you fly to a new place. It is more about satellites to consider.
2017-9-11
Use props
Schmo
lvl.1
United States

Charles Adams Posted at 2017-9-11 10:07
I have some direct experience with some of your questions, but not all.