Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
FAA Compliant Lighting
12Next >
7935 43 2017-9-13
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
DemolitionMan14
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1963583 ft
  • >>>
United States

When is DJI going to produce and include navigational light for their drones that is FAA compliant for night flights?  I can't imagine its very difficult to incorporate anti-collision lighting that is visable from 3 miles.  As of now you have to buy a 3rd party LED and battery and attach it to the drone, which adds weight and could cause balance issues.
2017-9-13
Use props
$gambino$
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1563980 ft
United States

Well as a drone operator I don't think you are supposed to fly at night so that might be one of the reasons unless you are part 107 I think
2017-9-13
Use props
DroneFlying
lvl.4
Flight distance : 10774613 ft
United States

$gambino$ Posted at 2017-9-13 07:30
Well as a drone operator I don't think you are supposed to fly at night so that might be one of the reasons unless you are part 107 I think

You have it backwards: recreational flights are allowed at night but 107 pilots can only fly during the day, with an extra 30 minutes at dawn and dusk with the appropriate lights. And to answer the OP's question, that's probably why: because 107 pilots represent only a small portion of DJI's sales, so providing lights visible 3 miles away isn't a big priority for them.
2017-9-13
Use props
hallmark007
Captain
Flight distance : 9827923 ft
  • >>>
Ireland

Lights are at present no good to you in the US , I don't think we are going to see lights on the Mavic that can be seen 3 miles away now or in the near future.

you can buy lume cubes and accessories to fit your Mavic.

https://www.lumecube.com/shop/mavic-pro-kit
2017-9-13
Use props
Sportbike_Pilot
First Officer
Flight distance : 10278435 ft
  • >>>
United States

Wouldn't be a bit risky to fly at night? poor visibility.