Battery Question
795 10 2017-9-18
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Beachball42
lvl.1
Flight distance : 2467 ft
United States

I am a new owner of a DJI Phantom 3 Standard.  I flew it for the first time yesterday in beginner mode as I'm still learning.  I didn't let the battery get all the way down, it still showed around 46% when I stopped flying.  My question is how should these be stored?  Should I be taking the battery all the way down with each use before recharging?  What about the remote?  

If I wanted to fly tonight, is it going to harm the batteries if I recharge them when they aren't fully drained?  I know newer batteries don't have the same memory issues of years ago but I haven't found anything yet about the batteries used in the DJI.

Had a fun first flight just getting used to the controls and how the drone handles.  I can already tell I'll need to invest in a second or third battery eventually but had fun and was a lot easier to fly then my cheep one that I have that is all manual.  
2017-9-18
Use props
Tmygun
lvl.4
Flight distance : 2972497 ft
  • >>>
United States

How should these (Batteries) be stored?
If you are not going to use them for several days its optimal to store a DJI LiPO at between 50-60%....Lipo batteries do not do well if fully charged for a long period of time, in fact it can damage them. These batteries have a self-discharge feature that can be set in the DJI Go App to discharge the battery after X (1-10) days, but sometimes it seems not to kick in.  The most important thing to always remember is MAKE SURE THE BATTERY IS FULLY CHARGED BEFORE FLYING! If you flew 3 days ago and the battery still has 75% charge...NO MATTER....CHARGE IT TO 100%...flying on a partially charged battery that has been sitting around for a few days, can result in a catastrophic shutdown in mid-flight.

Should I be taking the battery all the way down with each use before recharging?