2351 11 2017-9-22
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
NJ Flying Slow
lvl.3
Flight distance : 765909 ft
United States

Good Day Folks,

I have a few questions, some of them may seem inappropriate, but would appreciate your inputs.

-What are the best forms of study material to pass the commercial exam, do you reccomend online, books, audio tapes, a combination?

-In general, what is the range for fees charged for things such as events and inspections.  Would could a business person expect to make (generally)?

I know these are very broad and abstract, but I'm looking to get more intel on this as I am interested in pursuing this and this forum has been great at providing valuable insight in the past.

Thank You in advance.
2017-9-22
Use props
Tmygun
lvl.4
Flight distance : 2972497 ft
  • >>>
United States

There are a lot of good courses out there.......Flyaerodrome.com and Sporty's Pilot Shop to name a couple.
I studied on my own and read twice cover to cover the Pilot’s Handbook of Aeronautical Knowledge.  I also read Airman Knowledge Testing Supplement for Sport Pilot, Recreational Pilot, and Private Pilot.

I have a colleague  that is doing one of the many online courses, and we will see how that goes.

The test is 60 questions and you have to go to an FAA authorized testing center.  They give you 2 hours to complete the test and you are only allowed to use the materials they give you as well as pencils they supply, that you can use to mark on the materials and calculate certain equations.  No cell phones or material you bring in.

70% is a passing score, and if you fail you can retest in 14 days...........of course you have to pay the $150 again which is a bummer.

As far as fees....really depends on the market....I live in a college town with a large population so work for roof inspections, real estate pics/vids, farm/crop surveys is in pretty high demand.

Hope this helps

2017-9-22
Use props
NJ Flying Slow
lvl.3
United States