12Next >
2187 42 2017-9-24
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Beachball42
lvl.1
Flight distance : 2467 ft
United States

I'm new to this whole thing and I've done one flight at the elementary school down the street from me.  I'm still using beginner mode so not going very high or far.  I was looking at places to possibly go fly and downloaded an app called B4uFly.  Much to my surprise, all around me I seem to be in a 5 mile radius of airports.  No major ones but local ones where small planes fly.  I had also thought about parks but it appears that in Indiana, state parks are off limits to flying.  I haven't yet seen anythng on county parks but will be checking.

So, my main question is where do you all fly?  Seems like everywhere I look is restricted in some way.  My other question, if I am within 5 miles of an airport it appears that you can fly but must notifiy the airport.  The app I have looks like I can just send a notice via that app.  Do I only have to notify them or do I need to wait for them to respond to say that I am clear to fly in that space?

Didn't realize how involved this whole hobby was going to be.
2017-9-24
Use props
Genghis9
First Officer
Flight distance : 961 ft
United States

Oh boy, almost one of those where do you begin...
First What App are you using?
If it is GO 4 or GO then no that App will not and does not notify anyone other than DJI.  It is, at best, a DJI cover their backside feature that ensure A) you don't fly in certain areas and B) if you do they told you so.