ND filters and 4K video?
3099 18 2017-9-24
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
mpwobbly
lvl.2
Flight distance : 37500 ft
Australia

I have read a bit about the use of ND filters and I understand, from those that have them, that the video is 'softer' due to the slower shutter speed. I confess upfront that I haven't any knowledge of the use of ND filters on video but I am wondering if using them would be counterproductive if you are trying to get the very best sharp footage for 4K TV? I can see the use of Polarizing Filters for saturation and glare on reflective surfaces but isn't the softer end result from ND filters going to go against the industry trend of maximising 4K clarity?

2017-9-24
Use props
Jenee 2
First Officer
Flight distance : 7852129 ft
Australia

I am not an expert but I have not heard of ND filters making the video softer. All an ND filter does is reduce the f-stop so you can get a slower shutter speed. It should not effect sharpness if that is what you are referring to when you use the term "soft".
2017-9-24
Use props
Mike Warren
lvl.2
Flight distance : 421532 ft
Australia

Ideally, the shutter speed of a video camera should be fixed at twice the frame rate, so for 30p the shutter speed should be 1/60th of a second. This gives the most natural feeling to the movement. Just enough motion blur so the frames appear to merge into a fluid motion. Slower than that and the picture looks blurry, and much faster than that and the picture can appear to stutter.