Can someone explain what happened to my drone (YAW/Compass Error)
1576 20 2017-10-2
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
djiuser_KTGNT1D
lvl.2
United States

Hi,

So i'm relatively new to the world of drones and have had the spark for 2 weeks. It's been flown 4 times pretty successfully. It's been a learning curve along the way, (e.g. knowing RTH only works when more than 30m else drone lands straight down).

I took it to Norway on a trip and both times the drone has just freaked out in the air and started drifting with no real control before losing signal and myself having to chase after it.

I've uploaded the flight log here

http://www.phantomhelp.com/LogViewer/3JYS0C7EYVSIY2R5KRFW/

You can see it drifted west, then I regained some control and tried to pilot it back before it just continued to drift before I managed to hit RTH where it just landed where it was. Can someone possibly shed some light on what happened.

There were powerlines nearby, there was a light wind, could that be responsible for taking the drone away out of my control? What should I do in future to prevent a similar situation occuring

Thanks,

Akash
2017-10-2
Use props
LX2000
lvl.1
Flight distance : 37477 ft
Netherlands

Did you do the compass calibration routine?
2017-10-2
Use props
LX2000
lvl.1
Netherlands

Did you do the compass calibration routine whenever you arrived in Norway / at the place you were flying.
2017-10-2
Use props
hallmark007
Captain
Flight distance : 9827923 ft
  • >>>
Ireland

I’m not sure what the difference in magnetic declination is between US and Norway but I’m sure it is enough that you should have calibrated your compass. Or if you did what kind of area did you calibrate in.