Crude time-lapse of moving clouds
1188 6 2017-10-2
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Twirlip
lvl.4
Flight distance : 2461545 ft
United States

So, I'm a total noob at post-processing, have no video-editing software at all.  But I wanted to experiment with making a time-lapse movie, using the "interval" function on the Mavic's camera.  Here's what I came up with.  The image quality's not great, mainly because of the horrible processing workflow I used, but I like the general effect of how it turned out.

https://i.imgur.com/34O25rT.mp4

https://i.imgur.com/SOGzmHG.mp4

These were both shot in the same location, one right after the other; the former is looking south, the latter is looking north.  Each of them represents about 9-10 minutes of realtime.

How I made them:

• Park drone
  • Start it taking photos at 2-second intervals
  • Hands off, just let it shoot for several minutes

My Neanderthal, horrible workflow to turn it into a video:

• Use Adobe Lightroom to export them all down to 800x600 pixels
  • Run it through https://ezgif.com/maker to turn it into an animated GIF (horrible, yes, I know)
  • Upload that to imgur, which apparently then turned it into an MP4

Anyway, I thought this was interesting.  For one thing, it gives an interesting sense of how stable the Mavic is over time, if you let it just sit.  You can see a little bit of "bobbing".  There's also a slight pan towards the right, at the beginning of the first video; no idea why it did that.

If you notice "flickering" in the second video, it's because a flock of little birds started swarming around the drone, a few minutes into the shoot.  (Sparrows, I think.)  I don't think they were actually interested in the drone itself; I think they were just flocking, and the drone just happened to be in the right place at the right time.

Here's my favorite shot of the birds, taken from one of the still frames:

One of my favorite pictures I've taken, and it's pure dumb luck.