Newbie... can my iPad 3 run DJI GoApp?
6786 23 2017-10-14
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
PhatPastor
lvl.1
Flight distance : 46148 ft
United States

I'm a DJI newbie... however I ve been flying RC for 20years... I just bought a barely used phantom 3 standard. The question I have is will my iPad 3 wifi only no GPS run the DJI GO app?
I have a iPad Air but it is almost full and I use it daily. I also have a iPhone 6s.

I just want to avoid problems down the road. I thought about buy a  Android tablet 7 inch 5.1 lollipop to be exclusive for my drone.

Your wisdom and  experience would be greatly appreciated thanks
2017-10-14
Use props
Geebax
First Officer
Australia

Yes, your iPad 3 can run the app. The Air 2 would be better though. I would not consider buying an Android device to dedicate to the aircraft, as any iOS device would be better.
2017-10-14
Use props
PhatPastor
lvl.1
United States

Geebax Posted at 2017-10-14 15:35
Yes, your iPad 3 can run the app. The Air 2 would be better though. I would not consider buying an Android device to dedicate to the aircraft, as any iOS device would be better.

Ok thx  Geebax
2017-10-14
Use props
DJI Susan
Administrator

DJI Go is available to run in tablet WiFi only. But the features of Follow Me which requires mobile GPS is not available, please kindly note.
2017-10-14
Use props
PhatPastor
lvl.1
United States

DJI Susan Posted at 2017-10-14 19:14
DJI Go is available to run in tablet WiFi only. But the features of Follow Me which requires mobile GPS is not available, please kindly note.

I don't understand?
2017-10-14
Use props
RedHotPoker
Captain
Flight distance : 165105 ft
Canada

Susan said;
You can use a tablet with wifi only, but for some flight modes, you need a device equiped with GPS.

RedHotPoker
2017-10-14
Use props
Spacer2711
lvl.4
Flight distance : 627979 ft
Netherlands

iPad 3 is fine. But, when your iPad has no cellular then there is no GPS. The cellular iPad has an A-GPS chip.
2017-10-14
Use props