Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Flyaways - is the spark reliable??
1891 27 2017-12-10
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
wetordry
First Officer
Flight distance : 8589 ft
United States

Just doing some fact finding...I am very interested in getting a spark for Christmas and have been researching as much information as I can get.  It seems however that the more research I do i continue finding more and more stories about flyaways...the point of this thread?  Are these pilot errors or is there a problem with the spark??

I understand that people usually don't write stories about how well an item is working, just when something goes wrong but i am continuing to read/view a lot of issues about flyaways. I am an experienced r/c pilot and am just checking, is the spark safe or is there an actual issue causing all the flyaways.

All comments welcome.
2017-12-10
Use props
Lyons90
Second Officer
Flight distance : 164528 ft
Australia

I believe the majority of 'flyaways' are user error. While there are some legitimate flyaways, I believe the number to be quite a lot lower than what it appears.

If you have previous experience with model aircraft you will be fine. The issue in a lot of cases, is not that the aircraft flys away, it is that it switches out of gps mode and the operator is not capable of flying it as you would a normal rc aircraft.
2017-12-10
Use props
Bright Spark
First Officer
Flight distance : 22129 ft
United Kingdom

Agreed, which is why if you cannot see it well enough  to fly it manually, it's all over.
With no conventional model flying experience, people fly them in 50 mph winds and wonder what the problem is/was.
2017-12-10
Use props
choban
First Officer
Flight distance : 30784 ft
Germany