A question to experienced / manned aircraft pilots
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
ShortRouter
lvl.2
Germany

Hello guys,

I've been testing my drone in slightly sub-freeze temperatures and normal winds. I have 2 questions about operating at high altitude and flying in sub-zero:

1) What would you recommend as a max altitude (speaking >500 m) you are comfortable flying in?
2) No doubt wind is stronger and temperatures even lower at high altitude but how much exactly? Is there a rule-of-thumb or a formula for the fall of temperature. Let's assume 0 °C ground temperature. Since my drone doesn't have an onboard outside temperature sensor, what would the temperature be at 500 m / 1000 m /... ?
How much stronger will the wind be?

Alex

2017-12-24
Use props
dan_vector
Second Officer
Flight distance : 613753 ft
United Kingdom

I am a qualified private pilot and so will attempt to answer your questions!
2017-12-24
Use props
ShortRouter
lvl.2
Germany

dan_vector Posted at 2017-12-24 03:23

Thank you sir!
2017-12-24
Use props
dan_vector
Second Officer
Flight distance : 613753 ft
United Kingdom

1) It does depend on the aircraft and if icing conditions are present. Unpressurised aircraft max ceiling will be 12,000ft at 1013mb. If icing conditions are not present (basically visual moisture and a heavy dew point then I would be happy to fly at that altitude. Again there many things to consider. Most private flying will occur at less than 6,000ft as the climb to altitude as well as the decent would take a long time as well as the piston engines becoming less efficient at too high an altitude. Another reason is that as you ascend further the airspace gets more and more controlled (away from airfields) due to the increasing commercial activity.