1174 6 2017-12-26
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Harry Pottar
lvl.3
Flight distance : 13163 ft
United States

Hi and Merry Christmas,

I'm new to the Mavic, I have unboxed but not flown yet, I want to just practice take off, landing, hovering, figure of eights etc.

We live in Massachusetts suburbs in a small town, found out that our house at the end but the at the interjection of two no fly zones. One is a hospital helicopter pad the other is a small, very small municipal airfield that I have never seen in use, but I guess it must be at some point.

Can I practice fly in my own front garden, the front is large enough to fly around in, we are surrounded by large oak trees and a huge forest behind the house.

My plan is stay below the height of the house and well below the tree line, I want to just practice vey simple beginner mode maneuvers, I’m looking to learn to fly before I start taking video.

I’m I ok doing this, I do not expect a plane nor helicopter to fly that low over my house, just don’t want to get in trouble with some over jealous official.

tia
harry

2017-12-26
Use props
Locoman
lvl.4
Flight distance : 748675 ft
United States

if you can take off, probably ok. but that type of NFZ may not let you even take off.
2017-12-26
Use props
CoreyB10
First Officer
Flight distance : 1665023 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

NFZ's are like a total no go area - Invisible wall. The software does not allow you to do anything. Safety feature unless you have a licence and can get the area unlocked for licence reasons and have a good reason to fly in them. Download UAV Forcast as this shows you where the NFZ's are located. You will then be able to plan where you can fly and know where they are.
2017-12-26
Use props
Harry Pottar
lvl.3
Flight distance : 13163 ft
United States