Newbie seeking guidance (literally)
769 7 2017-12-28
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Madseason
lvl.2
United States

Hello All

First I have to say that I'm a newbie to quality drones and DJI. I received the Spark (Fly More) Package for Christmas that included the remote, extra battery, charging station, etc. I connected everything and updated to the latest firmware for both the remote and the Spark. After initial checks, all looked good with IMU and compass but I performed the calibration (compass only) just to make sure.

The first two day of flights were great, I kept it in the beginner mode and stayed around 60-80 feet of max altitude within LOS not doing anything too crazy. All looked good as I was getting use to the controls. That night I noticed that I was getting some firmware update messages again. It was almost like the initial updates didn’t complete correctly. So, I tried again and once more everything looked good. The next morning I decided to fly and the first flight went great as I pushed it up to 200 feet in altitude. The second flight was when I nearly lost the drone as it began to fly erratically away from me about 40 feet off the ground. I was finally able to get it under control and land it across the street in the neighbors yard.

I went in to review the flight in the app to see what happened. at first I see I had GPS (11 tracking?) and that the “Home Point” was recorded and the RTH was set to 60. Then about 40 feet up the mode switches from GPS to ATTI and I got the following warning: “Warning: In Flight, working IMU encounters heading exception,please switch to atti mode if craft behave abnormally”. Almost immediately I get the next warning: “Warning: Weak GPS signal. Positional accuracy may be compromised. Please fly with caution.” At this point I was doing everything I could to get it down without crashing it.