3502 17 2018-1-7
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
fans3e4d6ec9
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1132648 ft
United Kingdom

Hi

I am new to drones but have flown helicopters before. I have already flew a few times successfully in bad cold windy weather.

After reading lots of stories about Spark fly aways. I just wanted to be on safe side and wanted to know from the experienced drone pilots what to do in a situation like that.
I tried to recreate the same issue by covering the sensors and flew it indoors ( so that the worse thing is its going to hit the ceiling and drop on the floor). In P mode without GPS as its indoors the Spark kept ascending even after I stopped and pull the controls downwards. So I have to catch it quickly before it hit the ceiling.
I also tried the same thing on sports mode still the same issue. Once you lifted it off the ground it will not stop or respond to the controls.
I personally thing it is an issue with the firmware and there’s no option to override and force it to descend when something goes wrong with the VPS. I may be wrong as my knowledge with these drones is very limited.

I would appreciate if anyone could give me some advice on force landing or any other action to bring the drone down safely.

Thank you

Regards
Ram

2018-1-7
Use props
Spaceman_66
lvl.4
Flight distance : 82323 ft
United States

Fascinating experiment. Thank you for your contribution and bravery getting these new data. You may really be on to something here. Eager and will watch with keen interest and anticipation to see where this may go!
2018-1-7
Use props
AlanIRL
lvl.2
Flight distance : 5384 ft
Ireland

2018-1-7
Use props
AlanIRL
lvl.2
Ireland

Nearest I can find in the manual to bringing it down in an emergency - hardly safely though.
2018-1-7
Use props
CabinPete
lvl.3
Flight distance : 98 ft
United States

Shut VPS off and see what it does.