OTG functionality on Spark up-to-date
2216 14 2018-1-23
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
flying_seb
lvl.1

United States

Hey there.

Since I have read so many things and my Spark is on its way to my house, I would like to have some general information about the use of OTG cables with the Spark.

Does it acutally work now and helps getting a better video transmission, or does it not work at all? I am fairly new to all this so I dont know how to get earlier updates etc.

regards
2018-1-23
Use props
warubikku
First Officer
Flight distance : 1592264 ft
United States

OTG is not officially endorsed by dji at this time for spark.
If you are using an android device you have to have a version of the dji go4 ap 4.1.15 or lower for an otg cable to work.
Using an otg cable DRASTICALLY reduces any latency in the video between the transmitter and device/phone/tablet.
Simply google how to manually install an older version of an ap on android. (iphone- your guess is as good as mine)
2018-1-23
Use props
seanie2322
Second Officer
Flight distance : 2356873 ft
  • >>>
Ireland

If your using an android device I would highly recommend downgrading the app and using otg cable. I use my galaxy s8 and when connected via WiFi I had terrible lag on the screen and my range was very poor (could not fly farther than 50mtrs).
2018-1-23
Use props
Grmachine
lvl.4
United States

It seems to be currently working correctly on the newest IOS, released 1/23/2018. But I still have not seen any post indicating DJI approval of its use.
2018-1-23
Use props
flying_seb
lvl.1

United States

I am on android, Huawei P9, so I will install the .15 version and try my best. Hope it will work.
2018-1-23
Use props
FelBRax
lvl.2
Flight distance : 132717 ft
Brazil

New Version? YES
OTG Working? Nope

Back to 4.1.15...
2018-1-23
Use props
flying_seb
lvl.1

United States

FelBRax Posted at 2018-1-23 16:55
New Version? YES
OTG Working? Nope