Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Winter Flying | Any Tips for The Cold Weather?
1213 11 2018-1-28
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
pasta10
lvl.2
Flight distance : 216358 ft
United States

Hello All,
I am new to flying drones in the winter time. Is there anything precautionary steps I should follow - before I fly my drone in the winter time?

Thanks!
2018-1-28
Use props
RedHotPoker
Captain
Flight distance : 165105 ft
Canada

Keep your flight packs warm. Same for your device.

RedHotPoker
2018-1-28
Use props
hallmark007
Captain
Flight distance : 9827923 ft
  • >>>
Ireland

Ensure batteries are fully charged: Some drone batteries include technology that automatically discharges battery power after a certain period of inactivity. This maintenance feature helps extend the battery life, but if you haven’t flown for a few weeks it can be easy to forget that your batteries may no longer be at the levels you expect. Before you head out the door, take a minute to verify that your batteries are fully charged.

Minimize heavy control inputs: Flying at high speeds or at full throttle requires a heavy current from the battery and can cause a sudden voltage drop. Avoiding full throttle, especially during the first few minutes of your flight, and minimizing heavy control inputs will help extend the flight time.

Avoid draining the battery: Under normal weather conditions, maxing out the flight time and flying to a low battery level is common. But when you’re flying in cold weather, completely draining the battery can be risky. Fly until the battery drops to 30-40 percent capacity, and then bring the drone back down. Pack a few spare batteries if you know you’ll need a lot of time in the air.