2460 14 2018-1-29
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
MaxP4
Second Officer
Flight distance : 13833304 ft
  • >>>
Italy

I'm planning a small tour in London and take my Spark with me. What laws and limitations are there in the UK? Can I fly over the city of London? In the parks? Do I need permissions?
In Italy I am an authorized drone pilot and I have valid insurance throughout Europe.
2018-1-29
Use props
Bright Spark
Second Officer
Flight distance : 22129 ft
United Kingdom

Hardly anywhere, and emphatically not over the city of London or any other.
2018-1-29
Use props
Malakai_UK
Second Officer
Flight distance : 536115 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

Not in the city. You have to be 150meters from a congested (built up) area. 50meters away from anything not under your control (buildings, vehicles, people etc). 150meters away from groups of 1000 or more people. miles away from airports. Most of London is covered with warning and authorised zones. There are probably a few parks you could fly in that are outside of the CAA restrictions but then it depends if those parks allow model aircraft flying. I have heard that some don't. I don't know how your Italian drone authorization would translate in the UK, you might have to apply to the CAA for an exemption.
2018-1-29
Use props
Martin Lines
lvl.4
Flight distance : 19147 ft
United Kingdom

There is a small flying area in Richmond park and thats about it
2018-1-29
Use props
Bright Spark
Second Officer
United Kingdom

Some ealing parks are supportive too.
2018-1-29
Use props
Nidge
Second Officer

United Kingdom

This is how Drone Assist interprets London Airspace. As previously mentioned there maybe some very small areas reserved for recreational use. There is a NOTAM issued today for commercial SUAS use within the city but this will have been provided on a very strict and time limited basis.

5496461D-8762-4268-88B2-75F2217550A4.png
2018-1-29
Use props
darkuser999
lvl.2
Flight distance : 51890 ft
United Kingdom